Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Conservatives hold their seat in general election

DAVIDWarburton MP has held on to his seat in the general election on Thursday 8th June with a convincing victory.

David Warburton MP, who has been the Conservative MP for the area since 2015, was re-elected for the Somerton and Frome constituency with 36,231 votes, giving him 57% of the total votes. This was an increase from 2015, which saw him win 53% of the overall vote.

The result in full was: Cons, David Warburton, 36,231 (57%); Lib Dems, Mark Blackburn, 13,325 (21%); Labour, Sean Dromgoole, 10,998 (17.3%); Green Party, Theo Simon, 2,047 (3.2%); Independent, Richard Hadwin, 991 (1.6%).