Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Who deserves to be Frome’s Person of the Year 2017?

Nominations are now open for the Frome Person of the Year award.

The competition, run by the Frome Times, will recognise a resident who has made a real contribution to the community in 2017.

It’s been an exciting year for Frome and many individuals have worked hard to improve their town, raise money for charity or help other people. With so many people doing great things in their community, we need your help to find them.

You can nominate any person who lives or works in the Frome area who you think has contributed to the local community. Perhaps your nominee has been involved in a local charity, helped run a sports club or offered voluntary services which have benefited the town.  The only conditions are that the person is from Frome or one of the surrounding villages or works in the town; and that the person has not previously won this award.

Nominations must be received by 5.00pm on Wednesday 10th January. A shortlist of nominees will be published in the next issue of Frome Times, with the winner decided by public vote.

Ian Drew, editor of Frome Times said, “This is a chance to nominate someone who deserves recognition for their outstanding contribution to Frome over the past year or who has had the biggest impact on life in the town.”

The award was won by Beaver Scout leader Ben Reynolds for his commitment to the local group and his active role in the community in 2016.

Frome’s Person of the Year 2015 was won by Pete Dayman-Johns, vice-chairman and membership secretary of Frome’s Royal British Legion branch and a volunteer for the Memorial Theatre and Royal Air Force Association.

Martina O’Connor, owner of Westway Cinema, won the award in 2014 for her work in keeping the cinema open and for her role in fundraising events in the town.

Frome’s Person of the Year 2013 went to Tony Perry for his work running the local community Bridge Cafe; as a trustee of Harry’s Hydro; chair of the Frome Mencap Society and campaigner on disability issues.

Other previous winners have been Nigel Williams, of Williams Butchers in Baker Street; Peter Smith, the chair of the Friends of Frome Hospital; street cleaner Mike Hall; and Memorial Theatre stalwart Humphrey Barnes.

Nominations can be made by emailing news@frome times.co.uk stating your name, address and contact number with your nominee’s name and why you are nominating them. (We won’t disclose who has made the nominations). If you have contact details for your nominee, please include these.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *