Stay connected

Frome officers and volunteers honoured in police awards

THE hard work and achievements of Frome’s police officers and volunteers have been recognised with a set of awards from Avon and Somerset Constabulary. 

A special award ceremony was held to celebrate the work of the special constabulary and police volunteers in East Somerset, and pay tribute to the hundreds of hours of their time they give to supporting the work of the police. The ceremony also recognised the efforts of regular officers, who were nominated for awards by both specials and regular officers.

The Sandy Padgett Trophy – in memory of the late Chief Superintendent Sandy Padgett – was awarded to the member of the Special Constabulary who had shown the highest level of commitment, enthusiasm and dedication to their role and to their colleagues. This was presented to Section Officer Steve Cook for the work he has put in over the past year, which included jumping into a freezing river in Frome earlier this year to save a man who had fallen into the water.

In the overall policing awards, Frome’s Gary Maule was named as ‘PCSO of the Year’. Frome Team 1 was voted as one of the ‘Teams of the Year’.

In the Mendip policing awards, Frome was named as ‘Neighbourhood Team of the Year’, while PC Rachel Clark was awarded the title of ‘Neighbourhood Officer of the Year.’

PC Becky Meecham was named as a ‘Response Officer of the Year.’ ‘Special Constable of the Year’ went to Section Officer Jeremy Lane of Frome.

In the volunteer category, the Frome Police Post received the title of ‘Mendip Volunteer Team of the Year.’

Individuals from Frome were also recognised as ‘Outstanding Volunteers’. Jan Macleod of Frome was awarded for her work in relation to Lorry Watch, Neighbourhood Watch, and licensing issues, while Ashley Reay was recognised for his work with Community Speed Watch in Frome. Terry Drake was awarded as ‘Mendip Volunteer of the Year’, also for his work with Community Speed Watch.

Chief Superintendent Nikki Watson said, “All these awards are very well deserved and I would like to congratulate all the recipients.

“Every day of the year, police officers, PCSOs, Special Constables, volunteers and police staff work tirelessly to prevent crime, catch offenders and make the streets and communities of Avon and Somerset safer places to live and work in.

“We can’t recognise and reward everyone unfortunately but I am delighted that we have been able to highlight just some of the teams and individuals from the district to thank them for the fantastic work they do.”

Avon & Somerset Police & Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens said, “I would like to congratulate all the winners. They deserve the recognition for their extraordinary effort and should be really proud of their achievements.

“I would like to pay particular attention to Special Constabulary winners and to say thank you to the volunteers who work hard across the police district every day, who provide the highest levels of professionalism and customer care.”

The event on Saturday 2nd February was attended by MP David Heath, Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens, Mayor of Frome cllr Pippa Goldfinger, and senior officers from the district. The ceremony, which was organised by District Officer Ian Budd, was held at Westland Leisure Complex in Yeovil and was sponsored by Yarlington Housing Group, Wookey Hole Visitors’ Centre and Jill Shortland Consultancy Services.

Pictures by Eyecatchers Photography.