Stay connected

Frome Oscars 2014

FMTC award winners.

FMTC award winners.

FROME Musical Theatre Company’s very own Oscars took place on Saturday 29th March when outstanding performances of the past year were recognised.

Members gathered at The Standerwick Suite, Standerwick Market for their annual Dinner Dance & Star Awards, this year sponsored by the Frome Memorial Theatre.

A glittering occasion as always, it showcased the very best in musical theatre that Frome has to offer.

The Lifetime Achievement – award went to Alec Ruddick which was presented by Humphrey Barnes, chairman of the main sponsors, Frome Memorial Theatre.

Best Newcomer – Winner: Suzy Howlett for Sweeney Todd – Award sponsor: The Frome Times – Ian Drew, editor

Best Dancing Performance – Winner: Eloise Kilkelly-Doyle for Cinderella – Award sponsor: Danceworks – Debbie Haines, owner.

Best Young Female Performer – Winner: Jasmine Shillabeer for Sweeney Todd – Award sponsor: The Little Flower Shop represented by FMTC vice chairman, Jo Plenty

Best Young Male Performer – Winner: Ben Hardy-Phillips for Sweeney Todd and Cinderella – Award sponsor: C W Accountancy represented by FMTC president, Bob Stannard

Unsung Hero – Winner: Annette Lee – Award sponsor: White Row Country Foods represented by Gillian Hayward

Best Female Singer – Winner: Teresa Bray for Sweeney Todd – Award sponsor: Lansdown Place Financial Management Ltd – Roger Hatherell, senior consultant

Best Male Singer – Winner: Ian Jones for Showstoppers – Award sponsor: Me Time represented by Andy Tawse

Best Supporting Actress – Winner: Joanne Plenty for The Sound of Music – Award sponsor: Andrew Carpenter Consultancy Ltd represented by James Carpenter

Best Supporting Actor – Winner: Andrew Carpenter for Sweeney Todd – Award sponsor: Andrew St John Discotheques – Tom Carpenter, director

Outstanding Contribution – Winner: Joanne Plenty – Award sponsor: Salisbury Printing represented by FMTC secretary, Karen Harley

Best Actress – Winner: Tabitha Cox for The Sound of Music – Award sponsor: NVB Architects – Giles Vallis, director

Best Actor – Winner: Davey Evans for Sweeney Todd – Award sponsor: The Coventry – Anne Dimery, manager

Members Award Of Appreciation – Winner: Jo Windel – Award sponsor: Frank and Elsie Vintage – Ellen Bishop, Partner

Best Overall Performance – Winner: Teresa Bray for Sweeney Todd – Award sponsor: Orchardleigh House – Gary Hill, wedding coordinator

This event always forms a mouthwatering pre spring musical event which of course this year is Hello, Dolly! to be performed at the Frome Memorial Theatre between 13th and 17th May.

Many of the award winners are playing principal parts again in this forthcoming production, including Jo Plenty as Dolly Levi, Andrew Carpenter as Horace Vandergelder, Davey Evans as Cornelius Hackl and Teresa Bray as Mrs. Molloy, so once again standards should be as high as ever.

Tickets for this wonderful American musical comedy, that includes such well known numbers as ‘Put on your Sunday clothes’, ‘Before the parade passes by’, ‘It only takes a moment’ and of course the title song ‘Hello Dolly’, are selling fast so readers are encouraged to book their seats at the Memorial Theatre box office either in person between 9.30am – 1.00pm Monday to Saturday, on the telephone by ringing 01373 462795 or on line by visiting